Nature Word of the Month – October 2017

Nature Word of the Month - October 2017

Why do I share nature-related words?  It all started when my curiosity was peaked by a friend’s post about her ‘crepuscular‘ cat.  I wasn’t familiar with that word so I looked it up. I was so intrigued that there are single words that succinctly describe a phenomenon or emotion. I set off with great motivation to learn other nature-related words. It was also a perfect fit for my children’s nature and home-schooling activities.

Most of the words I share have been used in the English language with references found in literature and science sources. It made sense to me as my hope is that we can all use them comfortably in our everyday lives when noticing and sharing our love for nature. We are, however, increasingly becoming global citizens. And we must as we have a communal responsibility to fully understand the human relationship with the earth and that we are active participants in her well-being.

Inspired by Robert Macfarlane’s book Landmarks, this month’s nature word comes from the Lithuanian language and is most appropriate for the current season in the northern hemisphere.

If you’d like to print a copy, you can do so by clicking here.

If you’d like to follow Robert and see his ‘word of the day’, click here.

Fondly,
Monique

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you!