Nature Word of the Month: Crepuscular

An acquaintance recently introduced me to the word ‘crepuscular’, using it in reference to her cat.Β  I found the word fascinating and it made me want to research other unusual words that related to nature.Β  I developed a list and decided to introduce one a month to my children.Β  It could be fun to incorporate them into our nature journaling (as well as other home-education activities).

Would you like to learn along with us?Β  Here’s our first word…

CREPUSCULAREven though I plan to start in August, we just happen to have Lizi Boyd’s book, Flashlight, checked out from the library.Β  We loved her book Inside Outside (and were inspired to create this activity) so we were anxious to read this one. While flipping through Flashlight, we pointed out which animals we thought were crepuscular and discussed the possible reasons why.

Another good book to read with your children is Daylight Starlight Wildlife.

We’re looking forward to the fun we’ll have exploring crepuscular animals both near and far.Β  My kids are already having fun just saying the word!Β  We hope you have fun with it too and would love for you to share how you and your children explore crepuscular animals.

Fondly,
Monique

One thought on “Nature Word of the Month: Crepuscular

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you!

