Nature Word of the Month, September 2017: DENDROPHILE

Nature Word of the Month - September 2017: Dendrophile

The wonder is that we can see these trees and not wonder more.
Ralph Waldo Emerson
Hello! It has been a while since I’ve shared a nature word of the month, hasn’t it? I’ve been struggling a bit to find one that has felt right, but this one… This one felt like a perfect fit. For myself and my family and to share with you.
Why do I share nature-related vocabulary? It was sparked by a friend’s post about her cat and his “crepuscular” activities. I had never heard that word and was curious. I looked up the meaning and actually felt a little rush from learning a new word that so succinctly described an occurrence I was familiar with. Nerdy, I know. I was excited to teach my children it too.
Learning new vocabulary strengthens one’s ability to grasp ideas and think logically, to communicate clearly and understand others better. It can help improve your memory, become more perceptive of your surroundings and increase your focus. And it’s just one more way, however small, I can support my children’s love of nature.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Print off this month’s nature word, pin it up where you will see it regularly, and have some fun incorporating it into your conversations or nature journals or writing.
Fondly,
Monique
Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you!

