Nature Word of the Month: NEMOPHILIST

Nature Word of the Month: May 2016

“It is not so much for its beauty that the forest makes a claim upon men’s hearts, as for that subtle something, that quality of air that emanation from old trees, that so wonderfully changes and renews a weary spirit.”
–   Robert Louis Stevenson

Do the woods bring you delight?  Do you visit for the simple appreciation of them?  Do you find yourself among the trees regularly?  Do you like to linger there?  If yes, then you are a nemophilist.

Usually I actively seek out unfamiliar nature words but this one popped into my Instagram feed recently via We Are Wilderness and I knew I had to share.

No doubt we each have a unique relationship with the woods, that we each find different treasures there.  When I reflect on the chapters of my life, the woods seems to have woven their thread throughout them all – from getting lost as a child with my sister and mother and finally emerging after nightfall, to backpacking in Yosemite as a young adult, to exploring alongside my children as they each develop their own individual connections.

You can read about the science behind why walking in the woods is beneficial if you want.  I think, however, that it’s beneficial enough to simply appreciate.

Click here to download a copy of this month’s nature word and share it with the young nemophilist in your life.

I’ll leave you with these thoughts…

“In some mysterious way woods have never seemed to me to be static things.  In physical terms, I move through them; yet in metaphysical ones, they seem to move through me.”
–   John Fowles

“In the woods we return to reason and faith.”
–   Ralph Waldo Emerson

“The forest is a peculiar organism of unlimited kindness and benevolence that makes no demands for its sustenance and extends generously the products of its life and activity; it affords protection to all beings.
–   Buddhist Sutra

“The clearest way into the universe is through a forest wilderness.”
–   John Muir

Have a wonder-filled day!

Fondly,
Monique

 

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you!

