With all the wonder of a child

the wonder of a childOn any given day a smile is brought to my face when I witness my children’s excitement over what they discovered out in nature that day.Β  I love how observant they are.Β  I love that they recognize natural rhythms.Β  I love that they want to experience more and learn more and share their stories with their dad and me.Β  I love that I can share my own appreciation for nature with them.

But the moment captured in the photo above reminded me that I have so much more to be grateful for.Β  This is my daughter happily running down the trail toward our destination just moments before…

the wonder of a childThis was one of those smile moments – when she arrived and paused to take it all in.Β  We have visited this pond many times before yet she still marveled at the sight of it.

I am grateful that she has this sense of awe and wonder.Β  What I am most grateful for, however, is that I get to experience nature through their eyes, not just my own.Β  They each have their own perspectives and ideas and each notice things that maybe the others hadn’t.Β  They each have their own connections and emotions.Β  They are each discovering their unique relationship with nature and where their place in it is.Β  And I get to not only watch them have their experiences but become transported into them as they share with me.

I am so appreciative to behold the wonders of nature through my children’s eyes.Β  It is a gift that I cherish!

Have a wonder-filled week!
Fondly,
Monique

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you!

