Celebrating the Winter Solstice

Celebrating the Winter Solstice

Here in the Northern hemisphere, the winter solstice arrives December 21st marking the shortest day of the year.Β  In New England, it often marks the beginning of a long and cold winter but, being the ever optimists, it also means the gradual return of daylight hours and the warmth to come (and also the return of our growing season).

One my children’s favorite ways to mark the occasion is to make solstice lanterns.Β  We choose to make ours with the colors of the sun and just love the warm glow that they emit.Β  We also read books such as The Winter Solstice and The Shortest Day.Β  And this year we will play a game we learned of in the book The Return of the Light, which seems fitting for our nature-loving family.Β  In this game each person takes turns pretending to be an animal and makes a wish for everyone related to a characteristic of that animal.Β  Here are some of my wishes for you all…

Eastern Grey Squirrel

“I am a squirrel.Β  I wish you all good planning for the future.”

African Elephants

“I am an elephant.Β  I wish you strong family bonds that last a lifetime.”

Bullmastiff

I am a dog.Β  I wish you many happy nature walks in the year ahead.”

Will you and your family be celebrating this winter solstice?Β  I’d love to hear about what you’ll be doing…

Let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you!

